farewell interns

It’s August, and this Washingtonian is joining the exodus. But it’s not just the lifers emptying out offices all over DC. The interns are leaving too. This summer I helped teach the Washington program for Virginia Tech undergraduates – like many programs sponsored by universities in Washington, the VT program includes both coursework and internships. I participated in a similar program as an undergraduate at Notre Dame. I remember being confused and irritated when I learned my internship assignment would be in the Treasury Inspector General’s office, but years later I look back on it as a formative experience. This summer, I saw VT Washington program interns inspired by internships in organizations like the Project on Government Oversight (POGO), National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), and the City of Alexandria GIS Division. Not always smooth sailing, but I go away with new confidence in the next generation of bureauphiles. Farewell interns!

Leave a Reply

